4 main sleep chronotypes: Lion, Bear, Wolf, Dolphin.

Sleep Chronotypes: Lion, Bear, Wolf and Dolphin.

If getting out of bed every morning is a demanding task, or on the contrary if you start to feel drowsy right after dinner time, this might be linked to your sleep chronotype, otherwise knows as your unique sleep schedule. The concept of sleep chronotypes categorises individuals based on their preferred timing of sleep and wakefulness. While different models and frameworks exist, one commonly referenced model identifies four main sleep chronotypes. These chronotypes are often referred to as Lion "The Power Hour," Dolphin "The Early Bird," Wolf "The Night Owl," and Bear "The Sleepless Elite."

The Power Hour (Lion): Individuals with the Power Hour chronotype tend to be early risers and experience peak alertness and productivity during the early morning hours. They typically wake up naturally with the sunrise and feel most energised in the morning, they then start to feel run down in the early evening.

The Early Bird (Dolphin): The Early Bird chronotype reflects individuals who have a preference for waking up early but may experience frequent awakenings and have difficulties maintaining consistent sleep patterns. They are often light sleepers, sensitive to noise and environmental factors, and may have a more irregular sleep schedule.

The Night Owl (Wolf): The Night Owl chronotype refers to individuals who have a delayed sleep-wake cycle, preferring to stay awake and be active during the evening and nighttime hours. They often struggle with early morning commitments and may find it challenging to wake up and be alert in the morning.

The Sleepless Elite (Bear): The Sleepless Elite chronotype represents individuals who have a relatively balanced sleep-wake pattern, aligning with traditional societal norms. They have a moderate preference for both mornings and evenings, tend to wake up and fall asleep at reasonable hours, and generally experience good sleep quality. They are a majority in the global population and today's 9.00-17.00 society is built around their chronotype. 

It's important to note that these chronotypes are not rigid categories, and individuals may exhibit variations and characteristics of multiple chronotypes. Additionally, research suggests that chronotypes can change over time due to various factors such as age, lifestyle, and environmental influences.

What sleep chronotype are you?

Back to blog






Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.